Led by Janet Harris, the Institute staff is made up of people with diverse professional backgrounds that fulfill the many unique roles an organization like ours requires.

We are united in our desire to continue Winthrop Rockefeller’s collaborative approach to transformational change and apply the Rockefeller Ethic to our everyday work together. Check out open positions here.

Senior Team

Janet Harris

Executive Director/CEOjharris@rockefellerinstitute.org

Janet Harris serves as the Institute’s Executive Director and CEO. She is a curious and determined leader with a passion for facilitating thoughtful conversations that lead to collaborative action and impact. She was chosen to lead the Institute in 2022 and has been with the organization since 2016 when she was tapped to help build the Institute’s programs and bring clarity to the organization’s mission and method.

Janet is a trained facilitator and experienced leader, public speaker, and connector who is passionate about helping others create transformational change. Her achievements include aligning Institute operations to the mission, building staff capacity in professional meeting design, facilitating impactful dialogue and deliberation, and creating educational programs that draw on Winthrop Rockefeller’s legacy, including the Institute’s Walks with the Governor workshop. Harris speaks to groups frequently on the history and legacy of Gov. Rockefeller, telling his story to inspire leadership growth in others.

Janet earned her bachelor’s degree while playing varsity basketball for the University of Central Arkansas Sugarbears. While working full-time, Janet completed her Master’s degree in Public Administration from the University of Arkansas Little Rock. She went on to work for the City of Little Rock, and then to serve in senior leadership roles in three state executive offices, including eight years as Arkansas Deputy Secretary of State.

Janet enjoys leading by asking questions and inspiring action through storytelling. A lifelong learner, she is currently pursuing her Executive Certificate in Nonprofit Leadership from the Harvard Kennedy School of Government. She is an active alumna of the University of Central Arkansas, where she serves on the Dean’s advisory board for the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences. She is a graduate of the Arkansas State Chamber of Commerce Leadership Arkansas Class XI and was named UCA Political Science Distinguished Alumna in 2016. 

Shawn Cathey

Chief Financial Officerscathey@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6218

Shawn Cathey serves as the chief financial officer for the Winthrop Rockefeller Institute, providing leadership for all financial matters.

Prior to joining the Institute, Cathey held the position of Senior Director of Finance at Winrock International for 21 years. He was responsible for the organization’s finance and accounting functions at Winrock’s headquarters and regional finance offices, with focuses on adding new and enhanced systems processes to Winrock projects, enhanced project reporting, invoicing and project finance staff development. Cathey is a certified public accountant. Prior to joining Winrock, he held various accounting and management positions in rural healthcare.

Cathey holds a bachelor’s degree in accounting from Arkansas Tech University.

Shana Chaplin

Chief Program Officerschaplin@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6220

Shana Chaplin, as chief program officer, develops and leads impactful programs and education services that fulfill the strategic vision of the Institute. 

Chaplin served most recently as Director of Engage Arkansas, where she led the office through simultaneous federal and state transformation, launched the first statewide volunteer portal, increased the award of grant funds from just over $600,000 to $1.7 million, secured private grant funding to help launch the Collegiate Service Leaders network, grew the number of Mayor’s Youth Councils, and launched the Engaged Cities certification program. Chaplin has invested 35 years in the public sector as a community engagement professional, with a demonstrated history in program management, organizational development, volunteer management, and public advocacy.

She currently serves on the Pulaski County Homeless Village Advisory Board member and is an alumnus of Leadership AR Class XIV.

Carder Hawkins

Chief Strategy Officerchawkins@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6288

As chief strategy officer, Carder Hawkins is responsible for developing, executing, communicating, and sustaining strategic initiatives that support the mission of the Institute. 

Hawkins comes to the Institute following a 20-year career in state government, which began with serving in the Arkansas Secretary of State’s elections division for more than eight years. He also served as the Arkansas Insurance Department’s chief information officer and as deputy director for the Arkansas Department of Information Systems — a position that oversaw the department’s human resources, legislative affairs, fiscal, procurement, security, enterprise architecture, and IT planning teams. Most recently, Hawkins served as the chief information officer for the Arkansas Division of Workforce Services. 

Hawkins holds a bachelor’s degree in political science with an emphasis in international relations from the University of Central Arkansas. He was also part of the university’s inaugural Community Development Masters class and completed a master’s degree in community development while working full-time at the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office. 

Supporting Teams

LaDonna Cole

Controllerlcole@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6204

Kaycee Lewis

Staff Accountantklewis@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6252

Scottie Price

Conference Plannersprice@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6245

Carter Wagner

Conference Plannercwagner@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6248

Marc Wilson

Conference Services Representativemwilson@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6248

Rachel Engebrecht

Development Associaterengebrecht@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6211

Allison Brucker

Executive Assistantabrucker@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6239

Payton Christenberry

Director of Facilitation Servicespchristenberry@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6255

Molly Thomason

Senior Facilitation Services Officermthomason@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6215

Chip Porter

Director of Hospitalitycporter@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6234

Austin Bond

Executive Chefabond@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6247

Jeanice Robinson

Hospitality Supervisor of Front Deskjrobinson@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6261

Sandy Coble

Hospitality Supervisor of Housekeepingscoble@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6236
Melissa LopesFood Service Manager
Joseph CampbellFood Service Assistant Manager
Aaron SageChef
James BradleyChef
Jessica WarrenAssistant Kitchen Manager
Joyce BrandPrep Cook
Katelyn LemleyPrep Cook
Dustin PricePrep Cook
Katrina PrimmDishwasher
Tena CollinsHospitality Associate
Diana HardinHospitality Associate
Alias McMurphyHospitality Associate
Lisa TurnerHospitality Associate
Kyle RobinHospitality Associate
Avah BassHospitality Associate
Melissa StowersHousekeeper
Danielle GeorgeHousekeeper
Kevin CarlonHousekeeper
Robyn SatterfieldHousekeeper
Lisa SimmonsHousekeeper
Grant WrayHousekeeper
Meagan FosheeHousekeeper
Cheyanne ParishFront Desk
Devin AuvilFront Desk
Stephanie FlowersFront Desk
Lilly McGheeFront Desk
Winton WagnerFront Desk

Heather Southard

Human Resources Managerhsouthard@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6205

Terry McCoy

HR & Payroll Coordinatortmccoy@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6244

Shane Engebrecht

Safety Coordinatorsengebrecht@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6243

Tim Land

Director of Information Technologytland@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6222

Taylor Hatch

IT Support Specialistthatch@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6291

Lance Oakley

Director of Maintenance & Constructionloakley@rockefellerinstitute.org)501) 727-6214

Marty Allred

Deputy Maintenance Directormallred@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6221
Carl PittsMaster Electrician
Andy RohlmanMaster Plumber
Matthew RagerWastewater Operator
Timothy PearsonCarpenter
Tracy JonesPainter
Jimmy TindellGroundskeeper
John TindellGroundskeeper
William TindellGroundskeeper
Jessie SwaffarGroundskeeper
John MayGroundskeeper

Julia Dossett Morgan

Director of Marketing & Communicationjmorgan@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6226

Austin DuVall

Communications & Content Manageraduvall@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6251

Venita Berry

Design & Production Officervberry@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6246

Lucas Potts

Marketing & Content Assistantlpotts@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6202

Aaron Keith Kennard

Program Officerakennard@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6265

Kimberly Bolin

Program Officerkbolin@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6249

Alyssa Ghaleb

Program Officeraghaleb@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6203

Lizz Wagner

Programs & Education Assistantllamb@rockefellerinstitute.org(501) 727-6257